These are historic documents for informational purposes only, and do not necessarily reflect the policies and priorities of the government of the day.



For Immediate Release
Oct. 9, 2001

Ministry of Competition,
Science and Enterprise
and Minister of State for Deregulation 


VICTORIA – A red tape reduction task force will recommend priorities for the review and elimination of regulations as the provincial government fulfils its New Era promise to reduce red tape and regulatory burden by one-third within the next three years.

            The task force will consult with the business community over the next month as it develops its recommendations. The chair will compile the recommendations and send them to the appropriate ministers.  Ministers, in turn, will consider these recommendations as they prepare the three-year deregulation plans they will present to cabinet early next year.

            The task force is chaired by Kevin Falcon, minister of state for deregulation.  Other members are Jock Finlayson, Abigail Fulton, Kenneth O. Higginbotham, Philip Hochstein, Robert Holt, Laurie Kerr, Paul Landry, Roland Langset, Lindsay Olson, Suromitra Sanatani, Stephen Thomson, Gary Tymoschuk and Mike Waberski.

            All regulations in the province will be reviewed.  However, ministries and regulations that have a significant impact on provincial competitiveness will be reviewed first. 

            For more information about sending in submissions, please visit on the Internet.


Red Tape Reduction Task Force Terms of Reference
Red Tape Reduction Task Force Members


Charene Cranston
Communications Advisor
250 952-0617




Appointment:  Appointed by the minister of state for deregulation for a one-year term.  Chaired by the minister of state for deregulation.

Remuneration:  Member travel expenses, but no per diem or other financial compensation.

Meetings:  As required.

Terms of Reference

To advise the minister of state for deregulation on matters related to carrying out the government’s deregulation commitment including:

·        Consulting with the private sector and advising on which aspects of existing regulation impose the greatest compliance costs or red tape or appear to be unnecessary

·        Recommending which aspects of existing regulation should be priorities for review and elimination or reform.

·        Advising on other matters related to carrying out the deregulation commitment that the minister may specify from time to time.


Government’s Deregulation Commitment: to reduce the red tape and regulatory burden in British Columbia by one-third over three years.

Regulation: regulations, legislation, interpretative policy and enforcement.  Includes regulation of private-sector activity and public-sector activity.

Regulatory Burden: number of requirements imposed by regulation (as defined above).

Red Tape: non-essential procedures, forms, licences and regulations that add to the cost of dealing with government: i.e. anything obsolete, redundant, wasteful or confusing that diminishes the province’s economic competitiveness and stands in the way of job creation or wastes taxpayers’ time and money.  Red tape does not include measures that are truly needed to protect public health, safety, the environment and consumers.



Charene Cranston, 250 952-0617



Kevin Falcon, Chair

Kevin Falcon is minister of state for deregulation and MLA for Surrey-Cloverdale.  He formed and served as the president of the Access Group, a corporate communications firm, before his election to the legislative assembly. Falcon has also worked in the real estate development and general insurance industries.

Jock Finlayson

Jock Finlayson is vice-president of policy with the Business Council of B.C., which represents more than 165 large and mid-sized companies from major sectors of the B.C. economy. He is past president of the Association of Professional Economists of B.C. and the Ottawa Economics Association and has a master’s degree in management from Yale University.

Abigail Fulton

Abigail Fulton is vice- president of government relations for the B.C. Construction Association, which represents over 1,700 construction firms throughout B.C. She previously practised commercial/corporate and real property law in Manitoba, where she also served as chair of the mental health review board, and has specialized training in negotiation and conflict resolution.

Kenneth O. Higginbotham

Kenneth Higginbotham is vice-president, forestry and environment, of Canfor Corp. He has an extensive background in forestry and is a former assistant deputy minister with the Alberta Lands and Forest Services. He holds a master’s in forestry from Utah State University and a PhD in plant ecology from Duke University.

Philip Hochstein

Philip Hochstein is executive vice-president of the Independent Contractors and Businesses Association of British Columbia.  He is also an executive member of the Coalition of B.C. Businesses, which represents 50,000 small and medium-sized businesses in the province.

Robert Holt

Robert Holt is president of Applied Common Sense Solutions Inc. on Saltspring Island.

He has a B.Sc. in chemical engineering from Queen’s University and an MBA from McMaster University. Holt is also a director of the Export Development Corp. in Ottawa.

Laurie Kerr

Laurie Kerr, of Prince George, is a manager of community economic development with the Community Futures Development Corp.  In 1999-2000, she served as chair of the B.C. Chamber of Commerce. Kerr was also manager of consulting services for the Business Development Bank of Canada and a development officer at the University of Northern British Columbia.

Paul Landry

Paul Landry is president of the British Columbia Trucking Association and vice-president of the Canadian Trucking Alliance. His background is in transportation and traffic safety, and he holds a master’s degree in public administration from Queen’s University.

Roland Langset

Roland Langset, an international business developer for more than 30 years, is the president and chief executive officer of Prima Developments Ltd. and the owner and manager of JL Associates.  He created and hosts a focus on business program on CFUN 1410AM radio.

Lindsay Olson

Lindsay Olson is the vice-president, Pacific region, for the Insurance Bureau of Canada, and has worked in the B.C. insurance industry for over 20 years. Olson holds a fellowship at the Insurance Institute of Canada and taught at the institute’s night school program in Vancouver.

Suromitra Sanatani

Suromitra Sanatani is vice-president of the Canadian Federation of Independent Business for B.C. and Yukon, and chair of the Coalition of B.C. Businesses. She is also vice-chair of the employers’ forum on the Workers’ Compensation Board.

Stephen Thomson

Stephen Thomson, of Kelowna, is executive director of the B.C. Agriculture Council. He has an extensive background in the agricultural industry in British Columbia. Thomson is also the second vice-chair of the B.C. Chamber of Commerce.

Gary Tymoschuk

Gary Tymoschuk is a councillor for the City of Surrey and owner of Frosty Vending. He is the past regional vice-president of the Credit Bureau of Vancouver, and a current board member of the Credit Counselling Society of B.C.

Mike Waberski

Mike Waberski, of Fort St. John, is a professional land surveyor.  He is the president of Waberski Darrow Survey Group Ltd., which provides survey services for projects throughout Western Canada, and EBA Waberski Darrow Consulting Ltd., which offers environmental and land management consulting to the oil and gas industry in northeastern British Columbia.



Charene Cranston, 250 952-0617