Printer-friendly version   

The Best Place on Earth


For Immediate Release

March 19, 2011

Ministry of Finance
Government House



Province celebrates wheelchair curling team


VICTORIA – The provincial government has proclaimed March 20, 2011 as “Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbour Day” to celebrate Canada’s Wheelchair curling team as part of a program to recognize British Columbia’s medal-winning athletes from the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, announced Deputy Premier Kevin Falcon today.


“Curling is a national pastime for many Canadians, and this Gold-medal winning team is helping introduce Canadians who are physically unable to curl to the sport of wheelchair curling,” said Falcon. “I’d like to congratulate the team on their accomplishment and celebrate their victory on the one-year anniversary of their win.”


Team Canada won the Gold medal after defeating South Korea in the final. Canada earned the top seed after finishing 7-2 in the round-robin stage of the tournament.


“I would like to congratulate all members of this team who represented Canada proudly in the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games,” said the Honourable Steven Point, Lieutenant-Governor of B.C. “Curling holds a special place in our sports culture and their victory serves as inspiration to other wheelchair-bound British Columbians to pursue their sports dreams.”


In total eight proclamations will be made by the Province recognizing 17 British Columbian athletes who won medals individually or as members of a team and those who served as volunteers during the Olympics or Paralympics.  The full list of proclamations includes:

·         Maelle Ricker Day (Feb. 16, 2011)

·         Ashleigh McIvor Day (Feb. 23, 2011)

·         Chris Le Bihan and Denny Morrison Day (Feb. 27, 2011)

·         Duncan Keith, Scott Niedermayer, Brent Seabrook, Roberto Luongo and Shea Weber Day (Feb. 28, 2011)

·         Josh Dueck and Lindsay Debou Day (March 13, 2011)

·         Lauren Woolstencroft and Karolina Wisniewska Day (March 15, 2011)

·         Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbour Day (March 20, 2011)

·         Olympic and Paralympic Blue Jacket Volunteers Day (March 21, 2011)


A backgrounder is attached.





The text of the “Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbour Day” proclamation reads:


WHEREAS we recognize the significant achievements and contributions that British Columbia’s Olympic and Paralympic medalists have made to our society through their inspiring performances, leadership and in helping to build pride in our province and nation, and


WHEREAS Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbour won the Gold Medal in Wheelchair Curling at the X Paralympic Winter Games on March 20, 2010, and


WHEREAS Our Lieutenant Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, has been pleased to enact Order in Council 903 on October 11, 2002;


NOW KNOW YE THAT We do by these presents proclaim and declare that March 20, 2011, shall be known as


“Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbour Day”


in the Province of British Columbia.


IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF We have caused these Our Letters to be made Patent and the Great Seal of Our Province to be hereunto affixed.


WITNESS, The Honourable Steven L. Point, Lieutenant Governor of Our Province of British Columbia, in Our City of Victoria, in Our Province, this fourteenth day of February, two thousand eleven and in the sixtieth year of Our Reign.




Media Contact:

Sarah Harrison

Communications Director

Ministry of Finance

250 356-2821


For more information on government services or to subscribe to the Province’s news feeds using RSS, visit the Province’s website at