View the printer-friendly version of this release.
Province of British Columbia
For Immediate Release
May 31, 2019
Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat
Honours and Awards Secretariat
Order of B.C. celebrates 30 years: B.C.’s highest honour recognizes 15
Cet article est aussi disponible en français

VICTORIA – Fifteen exceptional people will be appointed to the Order of British Columbia, the Province's highest form of recognition, Lt. Gov. Janet Austin, chancellor of the order, has announced. This marks the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the order.

“I am so pleased to share congratulations with the inspiring individuals joining the Order of British Columbia this year. These exceptional recipients are pillars of our communities, who have demonstrated excellence and distinction in their fields," Austin said. “I wish to extend my thanks to all new members for their commitment to meaningful work that leaves a lasting legacy, which benefits and elevates our province for future generations.”

This year, 209 British Columbians were nominated. Since its inception, 447 British Columbians have been appointed to the Order of British Columbia. Members have been appointed from all regions of the province and in numbers generally proportionate to a region’s population.

“On the 30th anniversary of the Order of British Columbia, I would like to congratulate all recipients of the order,” said Premier John Horgan. “Your leadership and accomplishments inspire British Columbians to aim high and share our gifts with the world. B.C. is a better place to live because of your contributions.”

This year's recipients are:

Dave Brewer of North Vancouver:
A founding member of North Shore Rescue, Brewer’s leadership, vision and determination have contributed significantly to a B.C. ground search and rescue system that is considered to be one of the most effective in the world.

John A. Brink of Prince George:
A lumber industry leader and innovator, John A. Brink built the largest secondary wood manufacturer in North America. He helped diversify the country’s forestry market after immigrating to Canada with only a few resources and a dream of building a sawmill.

The Honourable Patricia Carney, PC, CM, LLD (Hon.), of Saturna Island: 
Pat Carney broke new ground in journalism and Canadian politics, advancing the causes of equal rights for women, as well as Indigenous and minority rights, during a lifetime of public service.

Ronald Cliff, CM, of Vancouver:
Ronald Cliff is a volunteer and philanthropist whose track record includes more than 60 years of service to the Vancouver Symphony Society, as well as a diverse set of other cultural, civic, athletic and health-related organizations.

Jane Coop, CM, of Vancouver:
Jane Coop is a pre-eminent concert pianist, mentor and educator whose 40-year international career includes four Juno award nominations and the founding of the Skylark Music recording label.

Murray and Lynda Farmer of North Saanich:
Murray and Lynda Farmer have enhanced British Columbia as a place to study, live, work and visit through their volunteerism, community leadership, and particularly their support for Camosun College and the University of Victoria.

The late David Kampe of Penticton:
David Kampe shared his success in business through his generous and varied support of his community, including the Penticton General Hospital and the new patient care facility named in his honour. He passed away on May 8, 2019, after his nomination had been recommended by the advisory council.

Scott McIntyre, CM, LLD (Hon.), of North Vancouver:
Scott McIntyre is a founding partner of Douglas & McIntyre Publishers, which earned an international reputation for the quality and subject range of its books, including First Nations’ history and art.

Judy A. McLean, PhD, of Vancouver:
Judy McLean is a global health educator and researcher whose work in sub-Saharan Africa and South East Asia has helped to prevent vitamin and mineral deficiencies among infants and young children.

Bruce McManus, CM, PhD, MD, of Vancouver:
Dr. Bruce McManus has had a major hand in building excellence in heart and lung research and care through his versatile leadership across the B.C. health sciences community.

Kimit Rai, MD, of Coquitlam:
Dr. Kimit Rai founded Operation Rainbow Canada, a medical humanitarian organization that provides free cleft lip and palate corrective surgery to children and young adults in developing countries.

Susan Tatoosh of Vancouver:
Susan Tatoosh is a respected Elder and mentor who, as executive director of the Vancouver Friendship Society, is credited with making significant improvements to programming and services for the urban Indigenous community.

Tamara Vrooman of Vancouver:
Tamara Vrooman, president and CEO of Vancity, has guided the credit union’s growth, while adhering to the triple bottom line of economic, social and environmental sustainability.

Carl Walters, PhD, of Vancouver:
Carl Walters, an icon of the world’s fisheries science community, conducted research and developed computer models that have had an important impact on fisheries science in the last 50 years.

Over the years, the B.C. government has worked to increase awareness of the Province's highest honour to ensure that outstanding people from all eligible categories and from all parts of the province have an opportunity to be honoured. The Province has received more than 5,800 public nominations for the Order of British Columbia in 30 years.

Recipients of the Order of British Columbia are selected by an independent advisory committee. The 2019 advisory committee consisted of:

  • Robert J. Bauman (chair), Chief Justice of British Columbia;
  • Darryl Plecas, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of B.C.;
  • Daniel Weeks, president and vice-chancellor, University of Northern British Columbia;
  • Bobbi Plecas, deputy minister, Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat;
  • Arjun Singh, president, Union of British Columbia Municipalities;
  • Anne Giardini, OC, OBC, QC; and
  • Brenda Martens, OBC.

The Order of British Columbia investiture ceremony will be held for recipients and invited guests at Government House in Victoria on June 28, 2019. It will be webcast live here:

Learn More:

The Order of British Columbia is online:

Medal of Good Citizenship online:

Anyone can submit a nomination. More information, nomination forms and submission instructions are available online, by telephone at 250 387-1616, or by email:

Two backgrounders are available online:

For a French translation:

Kim Emerson
Media Relations
Government Communications and Public
250 812-8768

Connect with the Province of B.C. at: