View the printer-friendly version of this release.
Province of British Columbia
For Immediate Release
May 27, 2023
Office of the Premier
Byelections called for Vancouver-Mount Pleasant, Langford-Juan de Fuca

VICTORIA – Premier David Eby has called two byelections for the electoral districts of Vancouver-Mount Pleasant and Langford-Juan de Fuca.

Final voting day for both electoral districts will be June 24, 2023.

Vancouver-Mount Pleasant and Langford-Juan de Fuca became vacant when Melanie Mark and former premier John Horgan resigned as MLAs earlier this year. Mark was the first First Nations woman to serve in the B.C. legislature and as a cabinet minister.

For information about voting and registering to vote, call Elections BC toll-free at 1 800 661-8683, or visit:

Jimmy Smith
Deputy Director of Communications
Office of the Premier

Connect with the Province of B.C. at: